New Found Love

June 16, 2011 at 12:53 am (All-Star Superman, Batman & Robin, Frank Quitely, Grant Morrison)

For as long as me and my boyfriend have been together, he’s been trying desperately to get me to get in to Batman, and i DID enjoy the films and stuff, but there was nothing compelling me to read about Batman. I remember telling him that I just wasn’t that into Superheroes…and that was like a metaphorical slap in the face with an added fuck you!!! Lol, but a couple of months ago i read Grant Morrison’s All-Star  Superman, and that was the first Superhero comic i read. Loved it! Was super shocked because Superman is my least favourite superhero, but maybe it had something to do with Morrison’s writing style, or Frank Quietly’s incredibly moving art, but something sparked in me.

Last week I finally started reading Grant Morrison’s Batman & Robin, don’t know what I was expecting really, but it fucking blew my mind!!! I am in awe!!! Never read a writer who writes or thinks or imagines like Grant Morrison, and although my bf goes on about him, at least once a day, he is his number 1 man crush, so I feel like I already know him, but it’s like discovering a new love 🙂 It felt strange to truly care about characters that I’ve been acquainted  with since I was a little kid, but having this awakening of a whole new feeling for them, like i know them personally, like we’re buddies 🙂  And Grants crazy but genius writing, just has you hanging on his every word…waiting for the next…’Woah i did NOT see that coming!!!’  moment 🙂

YOU MUST READ THIS COMIC!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

